Free Consultation 480-390-2537

First-Time DUIs in Gilbert

What to Expect Following a First Violation

Penalties for violation of Arizona's drunk driving laws depend on the circumstances surrounding the arrest. Arizona has separate violations for a DUI depending on the level of alcohol in the driver's system. This is measured by blood alcohol concentration (BAC) taken within two hours of a person driving or being in actual physical control of the vehicle.

If a driver has a BAC of at least 0.08 percent, but less than 0.15 percent, they will be charged with a regular DUI. If a driver has a BAC of at least 0.15 percent, but less than 0.20 percent, they will be charged with an “Extreme DUI.” If the driver has a BAC of 0.20 percent or higher, they will be charged with a “Super Extreme DUI.”

Regular DUI

(0.08 BAC < 0.15 BAC)

Categorized as a Class 1 Misdemeanor, DUI charges carry both a minimum and a maximum penalty.

The minimum penalties faced are:

  • 1 to 10 days in jail
  • Alcohol screening and counseling
  • $250 in fines and surcharges
  • $500 fee to the Prison Construction and Operations Fund
  • $500 fee to the Department of Public Safety
  • Suspended driver's license from 90 days up to one (1) year

The maximum penalties include:

  • Six (6) months in jail
  • Alcohol screening and counseling
  • $2,500 in fines and surcharges
  • $500 fee to the Prison Construction and Operations Fund
  • $500 fee to the Department of Public Safety
  • Suspended driver's license from 90 days up to one (1) year

See Arizona Revised Statutes 28-1381(A)(2).

Extreme DUI

(0.15 BAC < 0.20 BAC)

Categorized as a Class 1 Misdemeanor, an Extreme DUI charges carry both a minimum and a maximum penalty.

The minimum penalties faced are:

  • 30 days in jail
  • Alcohol screening and counseling
  • $250 in fines and surcharges
  • $250 fee to the Arizona DUI Abatement Fund
  • $1,000 fee to the Prison Construction and Operations Fund
  • $1,000 fee to the Department of Public Safety
  • Suspended driver's license from 90 days up to one (1) year
  • Vehicle impounded for 30 days
  • Ignition interlock device in your vehicle for one (1) year

The maximum penalties include:

  • Six (6) months in jail
  • Alcohol screening and counseling
  • $2,500 in fines and surcharges
  • $250 fee to the Arizona DUI Abatement Fund
  • $1,000 fee to the Prison Construction and Operations Fund
  • $1,000 fee to the Department of Public Safety
  • Suspended driver's license from 90 days up to one (1) year
  • Vehicle impounded for 30 days
  • Ignition interlock device in your vehicle for one (1) year

See Arizona Revised Statutes 28-1382(A)(1).

Super Extreme DUI

(0.20 BAC +)

Categorized as a Class 1 Misdemeanor, a Super Extreme DUI charges carry both a minimum and a maximum penalty.

The minimum penalties faced are:

  • 45 days in jail
  • Alcohol screening and counseling
  • $500 in fines and surcharges
  • $250 fee to the Arizona DUI Abatement Fund
  • $1,000 fee to the Prison Construction and Operations Fund
  • $1,000 fee to the Department of Public Safety
  • Suspended driver's license from 90 days up to one (1) year
  • Vehicle impounded for 30 days
  • Ignition interlock device in your vehicle for eighteen (18) months

The maximum penalties include:

  • Six (6) months in jail
  • Alcohol screening and counseling
  • $2,500 in fines and surcharges
  • $250 fee to the Arizona DUI Abatement Fund
  • $1,000 fee to the Prison Construction and Operations Fund
  • $1,000 fee to the Department of Public Safety
  • Suspended driver's license from 90 days up to one (1) year
  • Vehicle impounded for 30 days
  • Ignition interlock device in your vehicle for eighteen (18) months

See Arizona Revised Statutes 28-1382(A)(2).

Additional Costs and Fees

In addition to the above listed mandatory fees and fines, you will be responsible for paying the costs of all the services and requirements of your penalty. Often times, your insurance company will terminate your policy after a DUI, or raise the monthly premiums by double or even triple. The increased insurance premiums usually stay in place for three years. These costs can quickly add up to thousands of dollars.

You will be responsible for paying for:

  • Substance abuse screening
  • Substance abuse classes
  • Ignition Interlock Device installation and monitoring
  • Driver's license reinstatement fee
  • Vehicle impound fee
  • SR-22 Insurance Certificate of Financial Responsibility filing fee (for a period of three years)
  • Increased auto insurance premiums (for a period of three years)

If you have been arrested for DUI anywhere in the Phoenix Metro Area, call the one local DUI attorney who is a both former police officer and prosecutor.

Take action NOW by contacting Jonathan Warshaw's office at 480-390-2537.

Contact Us Today!

If you're charged with a Driving Under the Influence offense, it's possible to have your charges dismissed with the assistance of a skilled DUI lawyer. However don't wait... You Must ACT NOW!

Menu